80
Actions published
37% of the register
22
Monetary penalties
13 with a published figure
£13,820,000
Penalties published
sum of stated amounts
£12,700,000
Largest single penalty
TikTok Information Technologies UK Limited and TikTok Inc (TikTok)
16
Sectors represented
3 laws named
2023 in one paragraph
The ICO published 80 enforcement actions dated 2023, 48 more than in 2022. They break down as 37 reprimands, 22 monetary penalties and 21 enforcement notices. 38 name the UK GDPR and 40 were taken under PECR, the separate marketing and electronic-communications rules, carrying £1,120,000 of the year's published penalties between them. A PECR penalty is not a GDPR fine, and the two are counted apart everywhere on this register.
01Largest penalties of 2023
| # | Organisation | Date | Action | Law | Penalty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | TikTok Information Technologies UK Limited and TikTok Inc (TikTok) | 15 May 2023 | Monetary penalty | UK GDPR | £12,700,000 |
| 2 | Cover Appliance Ltd | 21 Sep 2023 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £200,000 |
| 3 | F12 Management Ltd | 21 Sep 2023 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £200,000 |
| 4 | Crown Glazing Ltd | 8 Jun 2023 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £130,000 |
| 5 | Join the Triboo Limited | 14 Apr 2023 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £130,000 |
| 6 | Maxen Power Supply Limited | 8 Jun 2023 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £120,000 |
| 7 | SGS Home Protect Ltd | 21 Sep 2023 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £70,000 |
| 8 | RHAP Ltd | 21 Sep 2023 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £65,000 |
| 9 | House Hold Appliances 247 Ltd | 21 Sep 2023 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £55,000 |
| 10 | Digivo Media Limited | 3 Oct 2023 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £50,000 |
| 11 | Simply Connecting Ltd | 6 Sep 2023 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £40,000 |
| 12 | This Is The Big Deal Limited | 25 Aug 2023 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £30,000 |
2023 by action type
- Reprimand37 (46%)
- Monetary penalty22 (28%)
- Enforcement notice21 (26%)
2023 by law
2023 by sector
- Marketing19 (28%)
- Health9 (13%)
- Local government8 (12%)
- Criminal justice8 (12%)
- General business5 (7%)
- Sector not stated5 (7%)
- Utilities5 (7%)
02Every 2023 action
03Other years
04Read across the site
The EU and UK decision register
Major GDPR fines across the EEA and the UK, with the amounts, articles and appeal status.
Enforcement statistics
Totals by year, country and violation across the wider decision register.
Article 83 calculator
Put your own turnover and infringement type against the statutory caps.
Provenance and independence
Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.
The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.
An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap.
Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: questions@gdprfine.com.