7
Actions in this sector
3% of the register
10 of 20
Rank by volume
sectors on the register
5
Monetary penalties
4 with a published figure
£28,648,373
Penalties published
largest: Reddit, Inc.
2023 to 2026
Span on the register
4 years
What the register shows for this sector
Online technology and telecoms accounts for 7 of the 216 actions on the register (3%), which makes it the 10th most heavily represented of the 20 sectors the ICO uses. The commonest action here is the monetary penalty, at 5 of 7 (71%). Most actions here name UK GDPR (6 of 7). 1 were taken under PECR, the marketing and electronic-communications rules, which are counted separately from the UK GDPR throughout this register.
01Largest penalties in Online technology and telecoms
| # | Organisation | Date | Action | Law | Penalty |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Reddit, Inc. | 23 Feb 2026 | Monetary penalty | UK GDPR | £14,472,500 |
| 2 | TikTok Information Technologies UK Limited and TikTok Inc (TikTok) | 15 May 2023 | Monetary penalty | UK GDPR | £12,700,000 |
| 3 | LastPass UK Ltd | 20 Nov 2025 | Monetary penalty | UK GDPR | £1,228,283 |
| 4 | MediaLab.AI, Inc. | 4 Feb 2026 | Monetary penalty | UK GDPR | £247,590 |
By action type
- Monetary penalty5 (71%)
- Reprimand2 (29%)
02Every Online technology and telecoms action
| Organisation | Date | Action | Law | Penalty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Reddit, Inc. | 23 Feb 2026 | Monetary penalty | UK GDPR | £14,472,500 |
| MediaLab.AI, Inc. | 4 Feb 2026 | Monetary penalty | UK GDPR | £247,590 |
| LastPass UK Ltd | 20 Nov 2025 | Monetary penalty | UK GDPR | £1,228,283 |
| Bonne Terre Limited t/a Sky Betting and Gaming | 2 Sep 2024 | Reprimand | UK GDPR | - |
| Intelling Ltd | 16 Nov 2023 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | - |
| TikTok Information Technologies UK Limited and TikTok Inc (TikTok) | 15 May 2023 | Monetary penalty | UK GDPR | £12,700,000 |
| Gain Capital UK Limited | 10 Mar 2023 | Reprimand | UK GDPR | - |
03Other sectors
Sector not stated
35
actions, £14,820,000 in penalties
Marketing
28
actions, £1,180,000 in penalties
Criminal justice
26
actions, £816,000 in penalties
General business
20
actions, £5,990,000 in penalties
Local government
20
actions
Finance, insurance and credit
19
actions, £410,000 in penalties
Health
15
actions
Central government
14
actions, £350,000 in penalties
Utilities
11
actions, £1,243,900 in penalties
Online technology and telecoms
7
actions, £28,648,373 in penalties
Retail and manufacture
5
actions, £140,000 in penalties
Charitable and voluntary
4
actions, £25,500 in penalties
Education and childcare
3
actions
Legal
2
actions
Transport and leisure
2
actions
Land or property services
1
action
Media
1
action
Political
1
action
Regulators
1
action
Social care
1
action
04Sector analysis elsewhere on the site
GDPR fines by industry
Which sectors draw the largest fines across the EEA and the UK, and the violations that drive them.
Violation types
Consent, security, transparency and transfers: what regulators actually penalise.
The full ICO register
All 216 published ICO enforcement actions, by year, sector and law.
Provenance and independence
Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.
The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.
An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap.
Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: questions@gdprfine.com.