EU Regulation 2016/679 - Decision Register

ICO REGISTER / SECTOR/FINANCE, INSURANCE AND CREDIT

ICO enforcement: Finance, insurance and credit

Every action the Information Commissioner filed under Finance, insurance and credit on the enforcement register, as it stood on 4 September 2026.

19

Actions in this sector

9% of the register

6 of 20

Rank by volume

sectors on the register

8

Monetary penalties

5 with a published figure

£410,000

Penalties published

largest: ESL Consultancy Services Ltd

2023 to 2026

Span on the register

4 years

What the register shows for this sector

Finance, insurance and credit accounts for 19 of the 216 actions on the register (9%), which makes it the 6th most heavily represented of the 20 sectors the ICO uses. The commonest action here is the enforcement notice, at 9 of 19 (47%). Most actions here name PECR 2003 (13 of 19). 13 were taken under PECR, the marketing and electronic-communications rules, which are counted separately from the UK GDPR throughout this register. 8 organisations appear more than once: Allay Claims Ltd (2), ESL Consultancy Services Ltd (2), National Debt Advice Limited (2), Pinnacle Life Limited (2).

01Largest penalties in Finance, insurance and credit

Ranked by the amount the ICO published
#OrganisationDateActionLawPenalty
1ESL Consultancy Services Ltd5 Dec 2024Monetary penaltyNot stated£200,000
2Pinnacle Life Limited7 Mar 2024Monetary penaltyPECR 2003£80,000
3L.A.D.H Limited19 Jan 2024Monetary penaltyPECR 2003£50,000
4Digivo Media Limited3 Oct 2023Monetary penaltyPECR 2003£50,000
5National Debt Advice Limited14 Oct 2024Monetary penaltyPECR 2003£30,000

By action type

  • Enforcement notice9 (47%)
  • Monetary penalty8 (42%)
  • Reprimand2 (11%)

By law

By year

02Every Finance, insurance and credit action

03Other sectors

04Sector analysis elsewhere on the site

Provenance and independence

Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.

The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.

An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap.

Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: questions@gdprfine.com.

REGISTER UPDATED 2026-04-28