EU Regulation 2016/679 - Decision Register

ICO / 2024 / 64370/MONETARY PENALTY

ESL Consultancy Services Ltd

Monetary penaltyNot stated5 December 2024

£200,000

Penalty imposed

Not stated

5 December 2024

Date on the register

Not stated

Law relied on

provision not named

Finance, insurance and credit

Sector

19 actions on the register

In one line

The ICO fined ESL Consultancy Services Ltd £200,000 on 5 December 2024 under a provision the published notice does not name.

01The record

Organisation named
ESL Consultancy Services Ltd
Action
Monetary penalty
Date published
5 December 2024
Register year
2024
Law relied on
Not stated
Provisions cited
Not named in the published notice
Penalty
£200,000
Sector on the register
Finance, insurance and credit
ICO register reference
64370
Register status
Published on the ICO enforcement register, 4 September 2026
Notice documents
1 PDF published by the ICO
Sector share of register
19 of 216 actions (9%)
Actions published that year
52
Actions under this law
24
Position on the register
159th of 216, oldest first
Published the same day
This entry alone
Rank by penalty size
14th of 44 penalties with a published figure
Complaints recorded
37,977
Entries for this organisation
2 on this register

02What happened, and where it sits

ESL Consultancy Services Ltd received an ICO monetary penalty on 5 December 2024. The published entry does not name the provision the Commissioner relied on. A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable.

The penalty is £200,000. That is the 14th largest of the 44 penalties on this register with a published figure and the 3rd largest of the 13 recorded in 2024.

The notice puts numbers on the contravention: 37,977 complaints. Those figures are the ICO's, taken from the published notice for this action.

ESL Consultancy Services Ltd is filed under Finance, insurance and credit, which accounts for 19 of the 216 actions on the register (9%). In 2024 the ICO published 52 enforcement actions in total, 17 of them monetary penalties. 24 actions on the register name no statute.

Counted from the oldest entry forward, this is the 159th of 216 actions on the register and the 16th of 19 in Finance, insurance and credit. ESL Consultancy Services Ltd appears 2 times on this register: monetary penalty on 5 December 2024 and enforcement notice on 5 December 2024. The ICO publishes one document for this action, 934 KB in total: "ESL Consultancy Services Ltd monetary penalty notice". It is the authority for everything on this page.

03The ICO's own account

Between 15 September 2022 and 5 December 2023, a total of 37,977 complaints were received regarding direct marketing messages which were sent at the instigation of ESL. The company has been fined £200,000 and issued with an enforcement notice.

Quoted from the ICO's published register entry (ico.org.uk), Open Government Licence v3.0.

The law behind this action

Not stated

Where the ICO's published register entry and notice do not name the provision relied on, nothing is inferred here. The linked notice is the authority.

All 24 register actions under Not stated

What a monetary penalty does

A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable.

04Other entries for ESL Consultancy Services Ltd

1 further entry on the register
OrganisationDateActionLawPenaltySector
ESL Consultancy Services Ltd5 Dec 2024Enforcement noticeNot stated-Finance, insurance and credit

05Nearest entries on the register

All Finance, insurance and credit actions/All 2024 actions/The full register

06Work out an exposure of your own

Provenance and independence

Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.

The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.

An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. This entry was read from the register page at https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/2025/01/esl-consultancy-services-ltd-mpn/.

Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: questions@gdprfine.com.

REGISTER UPDATED 2026-04-28