£120,000
Penalty imposed
Not stated
15 October 2024
Date on the register
Not stated
Law relied on
provision not named
Sector not stated
Sector
35 actions on the register
In one line
The ICO fined Quick Tax Claims Limited £120,000 on 15 October 2024 under a provision the published notice does not name.
01The record
- Organisation named
- Quick Tax Claims Limited
- Action
- Monetary penalty
- Date published
- 15 October 2024
- Register year
- 2024
- Law relied on
- Not stated
- Provisions cited
- Not named in the published notice
- Penalty
- £120,000
- Sector on the register
- Sector not stated
- ICO register reference
- 17374
- Register status
- Published on the ICO enforcement register, 4 September 2026
- Notice documents
- 2 PDFs published by the ICO
- Sector share of register
- 35 of 216 actions (16%)
- Actions published that year
- 52
- Actions under this law
- 24
- Position on the register
- 156th of 216, oldest first
- Published the same day
- This entry alone
- Rank by penalty size
- 23rd of 44 penalties with a published figure
- Complaints recorded
- 66,793
- Entries for this organisation
- 2 on this register
02What happened, and where it sits
Quick Tax Claims Limited received an ICO monetary penalty on 15 October 2024. The published entry does not name the provision the Commissioner relied on. A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable.
The penalty is £120,000. That is the 23rd largest of the 44 penalties on this register with a published figure and the 6th largest of the 13 recorded in 2024.
The notice puts numbers on the contravention: 66,793 complaints. Those figures are the ICO's, taken from the published notice for this action.
The register entry does not assign this action to a sector. In 2024 the ICO published 52 enforcement actions in total, 17 of them monetary penalties. 24 actions on the register name no statute.
Counted from the oldest entry forward, this is the 156th of 216 actions on the register. Quick Tax Claims Limited appears 2 times on this register: monetary penalty on 15 October 2024 and enforcement notice on 15 October 2024. The ICO publishes 2 documents for this action, 1.1 MB in total: "Monetary Penalty Notice - Quick Tax Claims Limited" and "Two companies fined a total of £150k after bombarding people with spam texts offering financial, debt services". They are the authority for everything on this page.
03The ICO's own account
An ICO investigation revealed that Quick Tax Claims Limited had sent 7,863,547 unlawful text messages over the course of a month, resulting in 66,793 complaints – 93% of these stating there was no ‘opt out’ option.
During the investigation, the ICO found that the company had purchased personal information from third-party suppliers that did not obtain valid consent. This led to the ICO issuing Quick Tax Claims Limited with a £120,000 fine.
The law behind this action
Not stated
Where the ICO's published register entry and notice do not name the provision relied on, nothing is inferred here. The linked notice is the authority.
What a monetary penalty does
A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable.
04Other entries for Quick Tax Claims Limited
| Organisation | Date | Action | Law | Penalty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quick Tax Claims Limited | 15 Oct 2024 | Enforcement notice | Not stated | - |
05Nearest entries on the register
| Organisation | Date | Action | Law | Penalty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Breathe Services Ltd | 12 Dec 2024 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | - |
| Dr Telemarketing | 15 Feb 2024 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £100,000 |
| Poxell Ltd | 16 Jan 2024 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | - |
| Skean Homes Ltd | 16 Jan 2024 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | - |
| ESL Consultancy Services Ltd | 5 Dec 2024 | Monetary penalty | Not stated | £200,000 |
All Sector not stated actions/All 2024 actions/The full register
06Work out an exposure of your own
Article 83 fine calculator
Estimate upper and lower tier exposure from turnover and infringement type, on the same scale the ICO works to.
How a fine is calculated
The Article 83(2) factors, the turnover caps, and how a regulator gets from a contravention to a number.
The ICO profile
How the UK regulator works post-Brexit, the £17.5M and £8.7M UK GDPR caps, and its divergence from the EU regime.
Provenance and independence
Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.
The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.
An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. This entry was read from the register page at https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/2024/10/quick-tax-claims-limited-mpn/.
Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: questions@gdprfine.com.