EU Regulation 2016/679 - Decision Register

ICO / 2024 / 17382/MONETARY PENALTY

Money Bubble Ltd MPN

Monetary penaltyPECR 200312 December 2024

£120,000

Penalty imposed

PECR 2003

12 December 2024

Date on the register

PECR 2003

Law relied on

provision not named

General business

Sector

20 actions on the register

In one line

The ICO fined Money Bubble Ltd MPN £120,000 on 12 December 2024 under the UK marketing rules in PECR. This is an ICO penalty, not a GDPR fine.

01The record

Organisation named
Money Bubble Ltd MPN
Action
Monetary penalty
Date published
12 December 2024
Register year
2024
Law relied on
PECR 2003
Provisions cited
Not named in the published notice
Penalty
£120,000
Sector on the register
General business
ICO register reference
17382
Register status
Published on the ICO enforcement register, 4 September 2026
Notice documents
2 PDFs published by the ICO
Sector share of register
20 of 216 actions (9%)
Actions published that year
52
Actions under this law
87
Position on the register
160th of 216, oldest first
Published the same day
4 actions dated 12 December 2024
Rank by penalty size
22nd of 44 penalties with a published figure

02What happened, and where it sits

Money Bubble Ltd MPN received an ICO monetary penalty on 12 December 2024. The Commissioner acted under the Privacy and Electronic Communications (EC Directive) Regulations 2003. A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable. PECR is a separate instrument from the UK GDPR, so this is an ICO penalty under the marketing rules and not a GDPR fine.

The penalty is £120,000. That is the 22nd largest of the 44 penalties on this register with a published figure and the 5th largest of the 13 recorded in 2024. PECR penalties are capped at £500,000, so the figure sits against that ceiling rather than the UK GDPR maximum.

Money Bubble Ltd MPN is filed under General business, which accounts for 20 of the 216 actions on the register (9%). In 2024 the ICO published 52 enforcement actions in total, 17 of them monetary penalties. 87 actions on the register name PECR 2003.

Counted from the oldest entry forward, this is the 160th of 216 actions on the register and the 8th of 20 in General business. The ICO published 4 actions on 12 December 2024, so this one was part of a batch: Breathe Services Ltd (monetary penalty), Breathe Services Ltd (enforcement notice) and Money Bubble Ltd EN (enforcement notice). The ICO publishes 2 documents for this action, 845 KB in total: "Bubble Limited monetary penalty notice" and "Rogue companies receive fines totalling £290k for making millions of nuisance calls". They are the authority for everything on this page.

03The ICO's own account

It was found that between October – November 2022, the company made 168,852 spam calls resulting in several further complaints being made to the ICO and TPS. MBL did not provide evidence that anyone whose number had been called had consented to receiving calls from the company. The ICO has issued a £120,000 fine.

Quoted from the ICO's published register entry (ico.org.uk), Open Government Licence v3.0.

The law behind this action

PECR 2003

PECR governs electronic marketing, cookies and communications-service security. It is a separate instrument from the UK GDPR: an action taken under PECR is not a GDPR fine, and the register pages here never describe it as one.

All 87 register actions under PECR 2003

What a monetary penalty does

A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable.

04Published the same day

3 other actions carry the date 12 December 2024
OrganisationDateActionLawPenaltySector
Breathe Services Ltd12 Dec 2024Monetary penaltyPECR 2003-Sector not stated
Breathe Services Ltd12 Dec 2024Enforcement noticePECR 2003-Sector not stated
Money Bubble Ltd EN12 Dec 2024Enforcement noticePECR 2003-General business

05Nearest entries on the register

All General business actions/All 2024 actions/The full register

06Work out an exposure of your own

Provenance and independence

Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.

The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.

An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. This entry was read from the register page at https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/2024/12/money-bubble-ltd-mpn/.

Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: questions@gdprfine.com.

REGISTER UPDATED 2026-04-28