EU Regulation 2016/679 - Decision Register

ICO / 2024 / 17385/ENFORCEMENT NOTICE

Money Bubble Ltd EN

Enforcement noticePECR 200312 December 2024

None

Financial penalty

Enforcement notice, no fine

12 December 2024

Date on the register

PECR 2003

Law relied on

provision not named

General business

Sector

20 actions on the register

In one line

The ICO issued Money Bubble Ltd EN with a enforcement notice on 12 December 2024 under the Privacy and Electronic Communications (EC Directive) Regulations 2003. No financial penalty attaches to it.

01The record

Organisation named
Money Bubble Ltd EN
Action
Enforcement notice
Date published
12 December 2024
Register year
2024
Law relied on
PECR 2003
Provisions cited
Not named in the published notice
Penalty
None (not a financial penalty)
Sector on the register
General business
ICO register reference
17385
Register status
Published on the ICO enforcement register, 4 September 2026
Notice documents
2 PDFs published by the ICO
Sector share of register
20 of 216 actions (9%)
Actions published that year
52
Actions under this law
87
Position on the register
163rd of 216, oldest first
Published the same day
4 actions dated 12 December 2024

02What happened, and where it sits

Money Bubble Ltd EN received an ICO enforcement notice on 12 December 2024. The Commissioner acted under the Privacy and Electronic Communications (EC Directive) Regulations 2003. An order to act. An enforcement notice requires the organisation to take, or stop taking, specified steps by a deadline, and failure to comply is itself an offence. PECR is a separate instrument from the UK GDPR, so this is an ICO penalty under the marketing rules and not a GDPR fine.

No sum is attached to this action. Enforcement notices are corrective, not financial, which is why Money Bubble Ltd EN appears on the register without a figure beside it.

Money Bubble Ltd EN is filed under General business, which accounts for 20 of the 216 actions on the register (9%). In 2024 the ICO published 52 enforcement actions in total, 17 of them enforcement notices. 87 actions on the register name PECR 2003.

Counted from the oldest entry forward, this is the 163rd of 216 actions on the register and the 9th of 20 in General business. The ICO published 4 actions on 12 December 2024, so this one was part of a batch: Breathe Services Ltd (monetary penalty), Breathe Services Ltd (enforcement notice) and Money Bubble Ltd MPN (monetary penalty). The ICO publishes 2 documents for this action, 413 KB in total: "Money Bubble Ltd enforcement notice" and "Rogue companies receive fines totalling £290k for making millions of nuisance calls". They are the authority for everything on this page.

03The ICO's own account

It was found that between October – November 2022, the company made 168,852 spam calls resulting in several further complaints being made to the ICO and TPS. MBL did not provide evidence that anyone whose number had been called had consented to receiving calls from the company. The ICO has issued a £120,000 fine.

Quoted from the ICO's published register entry (ico.org.uk), Open Government Licence v3.0.

The law behind this action

PECR 2003

PECR governs electronic marketing, cookies and communications-service security. It is a separate instrument from the UK GDPR: an action taken under PECR is not a GDPR fine, and the register pages here never describe it as one.

All 87 register actions under PECR 2003

What a enforcement notice does

An order to act. An enforcement notice requires the organisation to take, or stop taking, specified steps by a deadline, and failure to comply is itself an offence.

04Published the same day

3 other actions carry the date 12 December 2024
OrganisationDateActionLawPenaltySector
Breathe Services Ltd12 Dec 2024Monetary penaltyPECR 2003-Sector not stated
Breathe Services Ltd12 Dec 2024Enforcement noticePECR 2003-Sector not stated
Money Bubble Ltd MPN12 Dec 2024Monetary penaltyPECR 2003£120,000General business

05Nearest entries on the register

All General business actions/All 2024 actions/The full register

06Work out an exposure of your own

Provenance and independence

Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.

The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.

An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. This entry was read from the register page at https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/2024/12/money-bubble-ltd-en/.

Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: questions@gdprfine.com.

REGISTER UPDATED 2026-04-28