£3,070,000
Penalty imposed
Not stated
26 March 2025
Date on the register
Not stated
Law relied on
provision not named
General business
Sector
20 actions on the register
In one line
The ICO fined Advanced Computer Software Group Limited £3,070,000 on 26 March 2025 under a provision the published notice does not name.
01The record
- Organisation named
- Advanced Computer Software Group Limited
- Action
- Monetary penalty
- Date published
- 26 March 2025
- Register year
- 2025
- Law relied on
- Not stated
- Provisions cited
- Not named in the published notice
- Penalty
- £3,070,000
- Sector on the register
- General business
- ICO register reference
- 73022
- Register status
- Published on the ICO enforcement register, 4 September 2026
- Notice documents
- 2 PDFs published by the ICO
- Sector share of register
- 20 of 216 actions (9%)
- Actions published that year
- 31
- Actions under this law
- 24
- Position on the register
- 169th of 216, oldest first
- Published the same day
- This entry alone
- Rank by penalty size
- 4th of 44 penalties with a published figure
- People affected
- 79,404
02What happened, and where it sits
Advanced Computer Software Group Limited received an ICO monetary penalty on 26 March 2025. The published entry does not name the provision the Commissioner relied on. A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable.
The penalty is £3,070,000. That is the 4th largest of the 44 penalties on this register with a published figure and the 2nd largest of the 10 recorded in 2025.
The notice puts numbers on the contravention: 79,404 people affected. Those figures are the ICO's, taken from the published notice for this action.
Advanced Computer Software Group Limited is filed under General business, which accounts for 20 of the 216 actions on the register (9%). In 2025 the ICO published 31 enforcement actions in total, 14 of them monetary penalties. 24 actions on the register name no statute.
Counted from the oldest entry forward, this is the 169th of 216 actions on the register and the 10th of 20 in General business. The ICO publishes 2 documents for this action, 1.7 MB in total: "Software provider fined £3m following 2022 ransomware attack" and "Advanced Penalty Notice 20250327". They are the authority for everything on this page.
03The ICO's own account
The Information Commissioner’s Office (ICO) has fined Advanced Computer Software Group Ltd (Advanced) £3.07m for security failings that put the personal information of 79,404 people at risk.
Advanced provides IT and software services to organisations, including the NHS and other healthcare providers, and processes people’s personal information on behalf of these organisations.
The fine relates to a ransomware incident in August 2022. Hackers accessed certain systems of Advanced’s health and care subsidiary via a customer account that did not have multi-factor authentication (MFA). The cyber attack was widely reported at the time, with reports of disruption to critical services such as NHS 111, and other healthcare staff unable to access patient records.
The law behind this action
Not stated
Where the ICO's published register entry and notice do not name the provision relied on, nothing is inferred here. The linked notice is the authority.
What a monetary penalty does
A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable.
Published notice
04Nearest entries on the register
| Organisation | Date | Action | Law | Penalty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AFK Letters Co Ltd | 27 Mar 2025 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £90,000 |
| Darian Bishop trading as ECO4U | 24 Apr 2025 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £50,000 |
| 23andMe | 5 Jun 2025 | Monetary penalty | UK GDPR | £2,310,000 |
| Money Bubble Ltd MPN | 12 Dec 2024 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £120,000 |
| TMAC Ltd | 3 Feb 2026 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £100,000 |
All General business actions/All 2025 actions/The full register
05Work out an exposure of your own
Article 83 fine calculator
Estimate upper and lower tier exposure from turnover and infringement type, on the same scale the ICO works to.
How a fine is calculated
The Article 83(2) factors, the turnover caps, and how a regulator gets from a contravention to a number.
The ICO profile
How the UK regulator works post-Brexit, the £17.5M and £8.7M UK GDPR caps, and its divergence from the EU regime.
Provenance and independence
Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.
The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.
An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. This entry was read from the register page at https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/2025/03/advanced-computer-software-group-limited/.
Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: questions@gdprfine.com.