£2,310,000
Penalty imposed
UK GDPR
5 June 2025
Date on the register
UK GDPR
Law relied on
UK GDPR Article 5(1)(f), UK GDPR Article 32(1)
General business
Sector
20 actions on the register
In one line
The ICO fined 23andMe £2,310,000 on 5 June 2025 under the UK GDPR.
01The record
- Organisation named
- 23andMe
- Action
- Monetary penalty
- Date published
- 5 June 2025
- Register year
- 2025
- Law relied on
- UK GDPR
- Provisions cited
- UK GDPR Article 5(1)(f), UK GDPR Article 32(1)
- Penalty
- £2,310,000
- Sector on the register
- General business
- ICO register reference
- 76051
- Register status
- Published on the ICO enforcement register, 4 September 2026
- Notice documents
- 1 PDF published by the ICO
- Sector share of register
- 20 of 216 actions (9%)
- Actions published that year
- 31
- Actions under this law
- 95
- Position on the register
- 177th of 216, oldest first
- Published the same day
- This entry alone
- Rank by penalty size
- 5th of 44 penalties with a published figure
02What happened, and where it sits
23andMe received an ICO monetary penalty on 5 June 2025. The Commissioner acted under the UK General Data Protection Regulation, citing UK GDPR Article 5(1)(f) and UK GDPR Article 32(1). A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable.
The penalty is £2,310,000. That is the 5th largest of the 44 penalties on this register with a published figure and the 3rd largest of the 10 recorded in 2025. UK GDPR penalties are capped at £17.5 million or 4% of total worldwide annual turnover, whichever is higher.
23andMe is filed under General business, which accounts for 20 of the 216 actions on the register (9%). In 2025 the ICO published 31 enforcement actions in total, 14 of them monetary penalties. 95 actions on the register name UK GDPR.
Counted from the oldest entry forward, this is the 177th of 216 actions on the register and the 15th of 20 in General business. The ICO publishes one document for this action, 2.3 MB in total: "23andMe penalty notice". It is the authority for everything on this page.
03The ICO's own account
The Information Commissioner has fined 23andMe, Inc £2,310,000 for infringements of Articles 5(1)(f) and 32(1) of the UK GDPR between 25 May 2018 and 31 December 2024. 23andMe failed to implement appropriate security measures to protect the personal information of 155,592 UK users, following a large-scale cyber attack in 2023. The penalty follows a joint investigation conducted by the ICO and the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada.
The law behind this action
UK GDPR
The UK GDPR is the data protection regime the ICO enforces against controllers and processors. Its upper tier is capped at £17.5 million or 4% of total worldwide annual turnover, whichever is higher.
What a monetary penalty does
A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable.
Published notice
- PDF23andMe penalty notice(2.3 MB)
04Nearest entries on the register
| Organisation | Date | Action | Law | Penalty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Darian Bishop trading as ECO4U | 24 Apr 2025 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £50,000 |
| AFK Letters Co Ltd | 27 Mar 2025 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £90,000 |
| Advanced Computer Software Group Limited | 26 Mar 2025 | Monetary penalty | Not stated | £3,070,000 |
| GRS (Roadstone) Limited | 14 Nov 2023 | Reprimand | UK GDPR | - |
| Gap Personnel Holdings Limited | 19 Oct 2023 | Reprimand | UK GDPR | - |
All General business actions/All 2025 actions/The full register
05Work out an exposure of your own
Article 83 fine calculator
Estimate upper and lower tier exposure from turnover and infringement type, on the same scale the ICO works to.
How a fine is calculated
The Article 83(2) factors, the turnover caps, and how a regulator gets from a contravention to a number.
The ICO profile
How the UK regulator works post-Brexit, the £17.5M and £8.7M UK GDPR caps, and its divergence from the EU regime.
Provenance and independence
Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.
The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.
An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. This entry was read from the register page at https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/2025/06/23andme/.
Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: questions@gdprfine.com.