EU Regulation 2016/679 - Decision Register

ICO / 2025 / 80829/MONETARY PENALTY

Green Spark Energy Ltd

Monetary penaltyPECR 200328 August 2025

None

Financial penalty

Monetary penalty, no fine

28 August 2025

Date on the register

PECR 2003

Law relied on

PECR regulation 19

Utilities

Sector

11 actions on the register

In one line

The ICO issued Green Spark Energy Ltd with a monetary penalty on 28 August 2025 under the Privacy and Electronic Communications (EC Directive) Regulations 2003. No financial penalty attaches to it.

01The record

Organisation named
Green Spark Energy Ltd
Action
Monetary penalty
Date published
28 August 2025
Register year
2025
Law relied on
PECR 2003
Provisions cited
PECR regulation 19
Penalty
Not stated in the published entry
Sector on the register
Utilities
ICO register reference
80829
Register status
Published on the ICO enforcement register, 4 September 2026
Notice documents
1 PDF published by the ICO
Sector share of register
11 of 216 actions (5%)
Actions published that year
31
Actions under this law
87
Position on the register
184th of 216, oldest first
Published the same day
3 actions dated 28 August 2025
Complaints recorded
497
Entries for this organisation
2 on this register

02What happened, and where it sits

Green Spark Energy Ltd received an ICO monetary penalty on 28 August 2025. The Commissioner acted under the Privacy and Electronic Communications (EC Directive) Regulations 2003, citing PECR regulation 19. A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable. PECR is a separate instrument from the UK GDPR, so this is an ICO penalty under the marketing rules and not a GDPR fine.

The register entry for this penalty does not state the sum, and no single unambiguous figure could be read from the published notice, so no amount is shown here. The linked notice is the authority for the amount.

The notice puts numbers on the contravention: 497 complaints. Those figures are the ICO's, taken from the published notice for this action.

Green Spark Energy Ltd is filed under Utilities, which accounts for 11 of the 216 actions on the register (5%). In 2025 the ICO published 31 enforcement actions in total, 14 of them monetary penalties. 87 actions on the register name PECR 2003.

Counted from the oldest entry forward, this is the 184th of 216 actions on the register and the 9th of 11 in Utilities. The ICO published 3 actions on 28 August 2025, so this one was part of a batch: Home Improvement Marketing Ltd (enforcement notice) and Home Improvement Marketing Ltd (monetary penalty). Green Spark Energy Ltd appears 2 times on this register: monetary penalty on 28 August 2025 and enforcement notice on 28 August 2025. The ICO publishes one document for this action, 2.0 MB in total: "Green Spark Energy Ltd Monetary Penalty Notice". It is the authority for everything on this page.

03The ICO's own account

Green Spark Energy Ltd (GSE) was investigated as part of a wider operation set up by the Commissioner to assess and analyse complaint trends in relation to the energy and home improvements sector.

In March 2024, the ICO carried out a search warrant to obtain evidence in relation to GSE and its compliance with PECR. Following an extensive investigation, it was revealed that between May 2023 to May 2024, GSE instigated the transmission of, 9,587,050 communications comprising recorded matter for direct marketing purposes by means of an automated calling system, contrary to regulation 19 of PECR. This resulted in 497 complaints being made to the TPS and the ICO reporting tools.

The recordings used by GSE contained misleading statements to pressure homeowners, including suggesting their existing loft insulation was likely to cause serious health problems. Several of the complainants thought the calls were a ‘scam’ and said the company failed to identify themselves.

Quoted from the ICO's published register entry (ico.org.uk), Open Government Licence v3.0.

The law behind this action

PECR 2003

PECR governs electronic marketing, cookies and communications-service security. It is a separate instrument from the UK GDPR: an action taken under PECR is not a GDPR fine, and the register pages here never describe it as one.

All 87 register actions under PECR 2003

What a monetary penalty does

A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable.

04Other entries for Green Spark Energy Ltd

1 further entry on the register
OrganisationDateActionLawPenaltySector
Green Spark Energy Ltd28 Aug 2025Enforcement noticePECR 2003-Utilities

05Published the same day

2 other actions carry the date 28 August 2025
OrganisationDateActionLawPenaltySector
Home Improvement Marketing Ltd28 Aug 2025Enforcement noticePECR 2003-Utilities
Home Improvement Marketing Ltd28 Aug 2025Monetary penaltyPECR 2003-Utilities

06Nearest entries on the register

All Utilities actions/All 2025 actions/The full register

07Work out an exposure of your own

Provenance and independence

Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.

The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.

An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. This entry was read from the register page at https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/2025/09/green-spark-energy-ltd-monetary-penalty-notice/.

Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: questions@gdprfine.com.

REGISTER UPDATED 2026-04-28