EU Regulation 2016/679 - Decision Register

ICO / 2026 / 117176/MONETARY PENALTY

Energy Prices Direct Limited

Monetary penaltyPECR 200330 March 2026

None

Financial penalty

Monetary penalty, no fine

30 March 2026

Date on the register

PECR 2003

Law relied on

PECR regulation 21, PECR regulation 24

Utilities

Sector

11 actions on the register

In one line

The ICO issued Energy Prices Direct Limited with a monetary penalty on 30 March 2026 under the Privacy and Electronic Communications (EC Directive) Regulations 2003. No financial penalty attaches to it.

01The record

Organisation named
Energy Prices Direct Limited
Action
Monetary penalty
Date published
30 March 2026
Register year
2026
Law relied on
PECR 2003
Provisions cited
PECR regulation 21, PECR regulation 24
Penalty
Not stated in the published entry
Sector on the register
Utilities
ICO register reference
117176
Register status
Published on the ICO enforcement register, 4 September 2026
Notice documents
1 PDF published by the ICO
Sector share of register
11 of 216 actions (5%)
Actions published that year
21
Actions under this law
87
Position on the register
205th of 216, oldest first
Published the same day
This entry alone

02What happened, and where it sits

Energy Prices Direct Limited received an ICO monetary penalty on 30 March 2026. The Commissioner acted under the Privacy and Electronic Communications (EC Directive) Regulations 2003, citing PECR regulation 21 and PECR regulation 24. A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable. PECR is a separate instrument from the UK GDPR, so this is an ICO penalty under the marketing rules and not a GDPR fine.

The register entry for this penalty does not state the sum, and no single unambiguous figure could be read from the published notice, so no amount is shown here. The linked notice is the authority for the amount.

Energy Prices Direct Limited is filed under Utilities, which accounts for 11 of the 216 actions on the register (5%). In 2026 the ICO published 21 enforcement actions in total, 10 of them monetary penalties. 87 actions on the register name PECR 2003.

Counted from the oldest entry forward, this is the 205th of 216 actions on the register and the 10th of 11 in Utilities. The ICO publishes one document for this action, 4.7 MB in total: "Energy Prices Direct Limited monetary penalty notice". It is the authority for everything on this page.

03The ICO's own account

Contravention of Regulations 21 and 24 of the PECR. Energy Prices Direct Limited offer energy switching services. Information demonstrated that they had obtained information from the public domain and list providers, but failed to screen the data against the TPS/CTPS prior to making a marketing call.

Quoted from the ICO's published register entry (ico.org.uk), Open Government Licence v3.0.

The law behind this action

PECR 2003

PECR governs electronic marketing, cookies and communications-service security. It is a separate instrument from the UK GDPR: an action taken under PECR is not a GDPR fine, and the register pages here never describe it as one.

All 87 register actions under PECR 2003

What a monetary penalty does

A fine. The ICO issues a monetary penalty notice setting out the contravention and the sum payable.

04Nearest entries on the register

All Utilities actions/All 2026 actions/The full register

05Work out an exposure of your own

Provenance and independence

Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.

The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.

An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. This entry was read from the register page at https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/2026/03/energy-prices-direct-limited/.

Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: questions@gdprfine.com.

REGISTER UPDATED 2026-04-28