EU Regulation 2016/679 - Decision Register

ICO / 2025 / 75568/REPRIMAND

Greater Manchester Police

ReprimandUK GDPR15 May 2025

None

Financial penalty

Reprimand, no fine

15 May 2025

Date on the register

UK GDPR

Law relied on

DPA 2018 section 45, DPA 2018 section 54

Criminal justice

Sector

26 actions on the register

In one line

The ICO issued Greater Manchester Police with a reprimand on 15 May 2025 under the UK General Data Protection Regulation. No financial penalty attaches to it.

01The record

Organisation named
Greater Manchester Police
Action
Reprimand
Date published
15 May 2025
Register year
2025
Law relied on
UK GDPR
Provisions cited
DPA 2018 section 45, DPA 2018 section 54, UK GDPR Article 12(3), UK GDPR Article 15, UK GDPR Article 58(2)(b)
Penalty
None (not a financial penalty)
Sector on the register
Criminal justice
ICO register reference
75568
Register status
Published on the ICO enforcement register, 4 September 2026
Notice documents
1 PDF published by the ICO
Sector share of register
26 of 216 actions (12%)
Actions published that year
31
Actions under this law
95
Position on the register
175th of 216, oldest first
Published the same day
This entry alone
Entries for this organisation
2 on this register

02What happened, and where it sits

Greater Manchester Police received an ICO reprimand on 15 May 2025. The Commissioner acted under the UK General Data Protection Regulation, citing DPA 2018 section 45, DPA 2018 section 54, UK GDPR Article 12(3) and UK GDPR Article 15. A formal criticism on the public record. A reprimand carries no fine and no order, but it is published and the ICO expects the shortcomings named in it to be fixed.

No sum is attached to this action. Reprimands are corrective, not financial, which is why Greater Manchester Police appears on the register without a figure beside it.

Greater Manchester Police is filed under Criminal justice, which accounts for 26 of the 216 actions on the register (12%). In 2025 the ICO published 31 enforcement actions in total, 8 of them reprimands. 95 actions on the register name UK GDPR.

Counted from the oldest entry forward, this is the 175th of 216 actions on the register and the 20th of 26 in Criminal justice. Greater Manchester Police appears 2 times on this register: reprimand on 14 March 2025 and reprimand on 15 May 2025. The ICO publishes one document for this action, 183 KB in total: "GMP reprimand". It is the authority for everything on this page.

03The ICO's own account

Due to historic outstanding requests Chief Constable Greater Manchester Police had continually failed to meet its data protection obligations when responding to subject access requests (SARs) infringing Article 12(3) of UK GDPR, Article 15 of UK GDPR and Section 45, Part 3 of DPA 2018 and Section 54, Part 3 of DPA 2018.

Quoted from the ICO's published register entry (ico.org.uk), Open Government Licence v3.0.

The law behind this action

UK GDPR

The UK GDPR is the data protection regime the ICO enforces against controllers and processors. Its upper tier is capped at £17.5 million or 4% of total worldwide annual turnover, whichever is higher.

All 95 register actions under UK GDPR

What a reprimand does

A formal criticism on the public record. A reprimand carries no fine and no order, but it is published and the ICO expects the shortcomings named in it to be fixed.

Published notice

04Other entries for Greater Manchester Police

1 further entry on the register
OrganisationDateActionLawPenaltySector
Greater Manchester Police14 Mar 2025ReprimandNot stated-Criminal justice

05Nearest entries on the register

All Criminal justice actions/All 2025 actions/The full register

06Work out an exposure of your own

Provenance and independence

Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.

The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.

An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. This entry was read from the register page at https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/2025/06/greater-manchester-police/.

Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: questions@gdprfine.com.

REGISTER UPDATED 2026-04-28