EU Regulation 2016/679 - Decision Register

ICO / 2024 / 17342/REPRIMAND

Chief Constable West Midlands Police

ReprimandUK GDPR1 March 2024

None

Financial penalty

Reprimand, no fine

1 March 2024

Date on the register

UK GDPR

Law relied on

DPA 2018 section 57

Criminal justice

Sector

26 actions on the register

In one line

The ICO issued Chief Constable West Midlands Police with a reprimand on 1 March 2024 under the UK General Data Protection Regulation. No financial penalty attaches to it.

01The record

Organisation named
Chief Constable West Midlands Police
Action
Reprimand
Date published
1 March 2024
Register year
2024
Law relied on
UK GDPR
Provisions cited
DPA 2018 section 57
Penalty
None (not a financial penalty)
Sector on the register
Criminal justice
ICO register reference
17342
Register status
Published on the ICO enforcement register, 4 September 2026
Notice documents
2 PDFs published by the ICO
Sector share of register
26 of 216 actions (12%)
Actions published that year
52
Actions under this law
95
Position on the register
127th of 216, oldest first
Published the same day
2 actions dated 1 March 2024

02What happened, and where it sits

Chief Constable West Midlands Police received an ICO reprimand on 1 March 2024. The Commissioner acted under the UK General Data Protection Regulation, citing DPA 2018 section 57. A formal criticism on the public record. A reprimand carries no fine and no order, but it is published and the ICO expects the shortcomings named in it to be fixed.

No sum is attached to this action. Reprimands are corrective, not financial, which is why Chief Constable West Midlands Police appears on the register without a figure beside it.

Chief Constable West Midlands Police is filed under Criminal justice, which accounts for 26 of the 216 actions on the register (12%). In 2024 the ICO published 52 enforcement actions in total, 18 of them reprimands. 95 actions on the register name UK GDPR.

Counted from the oldest entry forward, this is the 127th of 216 actions on the register and the 15th of 26 in Criminal justice. The ICO published 2 actions on 1 March 2024, so this one was part of a batch: Penny Appeal (enforcement notice). The ICO publishes 2 documents for this action, 143 KB in total: "WMP Final Reprimand" and "ICO reprimands West Midlands Police for data protection failure". They are the authority for everything on this page.

03The ICO's own account

A reprimand has been issued to West Midlands Police after the force repeatedly incorrectly linked and merged the records of two individuals with similar personal data. West Midlands Police failed to ensure the accuracy of the personal data of these two individuals, resulting in multiple incidents where officers attended a wrong address, including on one occasion when there were serious safeguarding concerns relating to one of the individuals.

Quoted from the ICO's published register entry (ico.org.uk), Open Government Licence v3.0.

The law behind this action

UK GDPR

The UK GDPR is the data protection regime the ICO enforces against controllers and processors. Its upper tier is capped at £17.5 million or 4% of total worldwide annual turnover, whichever is higher.

All 95 register actions under UK GDPR

What a reprimand does

A formal criticism on the public record. A reprimand carries no fine and no order, but it is published and the ICO expects the shortcomings named in it to be fixed.

04Published the same day

1 other action carry the date 1 March 2024
OrganisationDateActionLawPenaltySector
Penny Appeal1 Mar 2024Enforcement noticeNot stated-Sector not stated

05Nearest entries on the register

All Criminal justice actions/All 2024 actions/The full register

06Work out an exposure of your own

Provenance and independence

Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.

The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.

An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. This entry was read from the register page at https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/2024/03/chief-constable-west-midlands-police/.

Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: questions@gdprfine.com.

REGISTER UPDATED 2026-04-28