EU Regulation 2016/679 - Decision Register

ICO / 2022 / 17246/REPRIMAND

South Wales Police

ReprimandData Protection Act 201826 August 2022

None

Financial penalty

Reprimand, no fine

26 August 2022

Date on the register

Data Protection Act 2018

Law relied on

provision not named

Criminal justice

Sector

26 actions on the register

In one line

The ICO issued South Wales Police with a reprimand on 26 August 2022 under the Data Protection Act 2018. No financial penalty attaches to it.

01The record

Organisation named
South Wales Police
Action
Reprimand
Date published
26 August 2022
Register year
2022
Provisions cited
Not named in the published notice
Penalty
None (not a financial penalty)
Sector on the register
Criminal justice
ICO register reference
17246
Register status
Published on the ICO enforcement register, 4 September 2026
Notice documents
2 PDFs published by the ICO
Sector share of register
26 of 216 actions (12%)
Actions published that year
32
Actions under this law
8
Position on the register
17th of 216, oldest first
Published the same day
2 actions dated 26 August 2022
Entries for this organisation
2 on this register

02What happened, and where it sits

South Wales Police received an ICO reprimand on 26 August 2022. The Commissioner acted under the Data Protection Act 2018. A formal criticism on the public record. A reprimand carries no fine and no order, but it is published and the ICO expects the shortcomings named in it to be fixed.

No sum is attached to this action. Reprimands are corrective, not financial, which is why South Wales Police appears on the register without a figure beside it.

South Wales Police is filed under Criminal justice, which accounts for 26 of the 216 actions on the register (12%). In 2022 the ICO published 32 enforcement actions in total, 31 of them reprimands. 8 actions on the register name Data Protection Act 2018.

Counted from the oldest entry forward, this is the 17th of 216 actions on the register and the 2nd of 26 in Criminal justice. The ICO published 2 actions on 26 August 2022, so this one was part of a batch: Ministry of Justice (reprimand). South Wales Police appears 2 times on this register: reprimand on 26 August 2022 and enforcement notice on 9 October 2025. The ICO publishes 2 documents for this action, 743 KB in total: "South Wales Police Reprimand" and "Cy South Wales Police Reprimand". They are the authority for everything on this page.

03The ICO's own account

A reprimand has been issued after the disclosure of personal information by South Wales Police on two separate occasions, the first reported was for an incident in April 2020 (the first incident), and a second is an incident that actually predates the first, that occurred in February 2020 (the second incident).

Quoted from the ICO's published register entry (ico.org.uk), Open Government Licence v3.0.

The law behind this action

Data Protection Act 2018

The Data Protection Act 2018 carries the UK GDPR into domestic law, sets out the separate law-enforcement and intelligence-services regimes in Parts 3 and 4, and creates the criminal offences the ICO prosecutes.

All 8 register actions under Data Protection Act 2018

What a reprimand does

A formal criticism on the public record. A reprimand carries no fine and no order, but it is published and the ICO expects the shortcomings named in it to be fixed.

04Other entries for South Wales Police

1 further entry on the register
OrganisationDateActionLawPenaltySector
South Wales Police9 Oct 2025Enforcement noticeUK GDPR-Criminal justice

05Published the same day

1 other action carry the date 26 August 2022
OrganisationDateActionLawPenaltySector
Ministry of Justice26 Aug 2022ReprimandData Protection Act 2018-Sector not stated

06Nearest entries on the register

All Criminal justice actions/All 2022 actions/The full register

07Work out an exposure of your own

Provenance and independence

Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.

The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.

An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. This entry was read from the register page at https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/2022/08/south-wales-police/.

Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: questions@gdprfine.com.

REGISTER UPDATED 2026-04-28