None
Financial penalty
Enforcement notice, no fine
15 February 2024
Date on the register
PECR 2003
Law relied on
PECR regulation 21, PECR regulation 26
Sector not stated
Sector
35 actions on the register
In one line
The ICO issued Dr Telemarketing with a enforcement notice on 15 February 2024 under the Privacy and Electronic Communications (EC Directive) Regulations 2003. No financial penalty attaches to it.
01The record
- Organisation named
- Dr Telemarketing
- Action
- Enforcement notice
- Date published
- 15 February 2024
- Register year
- 2024
- Law relied on
- PECR 2003
- Provisions cited
- PECR regulation 21, PECR regulation 26
- Penalty
- None (not a financial penalty)
- Sector on the register
- Sector not stated
- ICO register reference
- 17352
- Register status
- Published on the ICO enforcement register, 4 September 2026
- Notice documents
- 2 PDFs published by the ICO
- Sector share of register
- 35 of 216 actions (16%)
- Actions published that year
- 52
- Actions under this law
- 87
- Position on the register
- 123rd of 216, oldest first
- Published the same day
- This entry alone
- Entries for this organisation
- 2 on this register
02What happened, and where it sits
Dr Telemarketing received an ICO enforcement notice on 15 February 2024. The Commissioner acted under the Privacy and Electronic Communications (EC Directive) Regulations 2003, citing PECR regulation 21 and PECR regulation 26. An order to act. An enforcement notice requires the organisation to take, or stop taking, specified steps by a deadline, and failure to comply is itself an offence. PECR is a separate instrument from the UK GDPR, so this is an ICO penalty under the marketing rules and not a GDPR fine.
No sum is attached to this action. Enforcement notices are corrective, not financial, which is why Dr Telemarketing appears on the register without a figure beside it.
The register entry does not assign this action to a sector. In 2024 the ICO published 52 enforcement actions in total, 17 of them enforcement notices. 87 actions on the register name PECR 2003.
Counted from the oldest entry forward, this is the 123rd of 216 actions on the register. Dr Telemarketing appears 2 times on this register: enforcement notice on 15 February 2024 and monetary penalty on 15 February 2024. The ICO publishes 2 documents for this action, 557 KB in total: "Dr Telemarketing - Enforcement Notice" and "Dr Telemarketing - Monetary Penalty Notice". They are the authority for everything on this page.
03The ICO's own account
Between 11 February 2021 to 24 January 2022, there were 80,240 connected calls unsolicited direct marketing calls being made to subscribers who were registered with the TPS and who had not notified DRT that they were willing to receive such calls, and two complaints being submitted as a result.
Calls were about the Irish Lottery.
DRT stopped engaging with the Commissioner part way through the investigation and failed to provide a satisfactory explanation for the Lotto Express calls involved in the contravention.
The law behind this action
PECR 2003
PECR governs electronic marketing, cookies and communications-service security. It is a separate instrument from the UK GDPR: an action taken under PECR is not a GDPR fine, and the register pages here never describe it as one.
What a enforcement notice does
An order to act. An enforcement notice requires the organisation to take, or stop taking, specified steps by a deadline, and failure to comply is itself an offence.
Published notice
04Other entries for Dr Telemarketing
| Organisation | Date | Action | Law | Penalty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dr Telemarketing | 15 Feb 2024 | Monetary penalty | PECR 2003 | £100,000 |
05Nearest entries on the register
| Organisation | Date | Action | Law | Penalty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Poxell Ltd | 16 Jan 2024 | Enforcement notice | PECR 2003 | - |
| Skean Homes Ltd | 16 Jan 2024 | Enforcement notice | PECR 2003 | - |
| Breathe Services Ltd | 12 Dec 2024 | Enforcement notice | PECR 2003 | - |
| Fortis Insolvency Limited | 28 Jun 2023 | Enforcement notice | PECR 2003 | - |
| AFK Letters Co Ltd | 27 Mar 2025 | Enforcement notice | PECR 2003 | - |
All Sector not stated actions/All 2024 actions/The full register
06Work out an exposure of your own
Article 83 fine calculator
Estimate upper and lower tier exposure from turnover and infringement type, on the same scale the ICO works to.
How a fine is calculated
The Article 83(2) factors, the turnover caps, and how a regulator gets from a contravention to a number.
The ICO profile
How the UK regulator works post-Brexit, the £17.5M and £8.7M UK GDPR caps, and its divergence from the EU regime.
Provenance and independence
Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.
The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.
An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. This entry was read from the register page at https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/2024/04/dr-telemarketing-enforcement-notice/.
Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: questions@gdprfine.com.