None
Financial penalty
Reprimand, no fine
7 June 2022
Date on the register
UK GDPR
Law relied on
provision not named
Sector not stated
Sector
35 actions on the register
In one line
The ICO issued Bolton at Home with a reprimand on 7 June 2022 under the UK General Data Protection Regulation. No financial penalty attaches to it.
01The record
- Organisation named
- Bolton at Home
- Action
- Reprimand
- Date published
- 7 June 2022
- Register year
- 2022
- Law relied on
- UK GDPR
- Provisions cited
- Not named in the published notice
- Penalty
- None (not a financial penalty)
- Sector on the register
- Sector not stated
- ICO register reference
- 17236
- Register status
- Published on the ICO enforcement register, 4 September 2026
- Notice documents
- 1 PDF published by the ICO
- Sector share of register
- 35 of 216 actions (16%)
- Actions published that year
- 32
- Actions under this law
- 95
- Position on the register
- 7th of 216, oldest first
- Published the same day
- This entry alone
02What happened, and where it sits
Bolton at Home received an ICO reprimand on 7 June 2022. The Commissioner acted under the UK General Data Protection Regulation. A formal criticism on the public record. A reprimand carries no fine and no order, but it is published and the ICO expects the shortcomings named in it to be fixed.
No sum is attached to this action. Reprimands are corrective, not financial, which is why Bolton at Home appears on the register without a figure beside it.
The register entry does not assign this action to a sector. In 2022 the ICO published 32 enforcement actions in total, 31 of them reprimands. 95 actions on the register name UK GDPR.
Counted from the oldest entry forward, this is the 7th of 216 actions on the register. The ICO publishes one document for this action, 210 KB in total: "Bolton At Home Reprimand". It is the authority for everything on this page.
03The ICO's own account
Bolton at Home has been issued with a reprimand for the inappropriate disclosure of personal data.
A staff member from Starts With You (SWY – a Bolton at Home subsidiary company) left a message on a telephone number provided on the data subject’s record. The number was actually the telephone number of the data subject’s husband, who she was intending to leave. This information had been provided to SWY by Bolton at Home (BH). The message contained details of the new address that the data subject was intending to move to.
The law behind this action
UK GDPR
The UK GDPR is the data protection regime the ICO enforces against controllers and processors. Its upper tier is capped at £17.5 million or 4% of total worldwide annual turnover, whichever is higher.
What a reprimand does
A formal criticism on the public record. A reprimand carries no fine and no order, but it is published and the ICO expects the shortcomings named in it to be fixed.
Published notice
- PDFBolton At Home Reprimand(210 KB)
04Nearest entries on the register
| Organisation | Date | Action | Law | Penalty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Post Office Limited | 2 Dec 2025 | Reprimand | UK GDPR | - |
| Ministry of Justice | 26 Aug 2022 | Reprimand | Data Protection Act 2018 | - |
| National Crime Agency | 6 Sep 2022 | Reprimand | Data Protection Act 2018 | - |
| Capita plc and Capita Pension Solutions Ltd | 15 Oct 2025 | Monetary penalty | UK GDPR | £14,000,000 |
| Department of Health and Social Care | 11 Jul 2022 | Reprimand | UK GDPR | - |
All Sector not stated actions/All 2022 actions/The full register
05Work out an exposure of your own
Article 83 fine calculator
Estimate upper and lower tier exposure from turnover and infringement type, on the same scale the ICO works to.
How a fine is calculated
The Article 83(2) factors, the turnover caps, and how a regulator gets from a contravention to a number.
The ICO profile
How the UK regulator works post-Brexit, the £17.5M and £8.7M UK GDPR caps, and its divergence from the EU regime.
Provenance and independence
Source: ICO enforcement register (ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/), as published on 4 September 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.
GDPRFine.com is an independent tracker of ICO enforcement. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to the Information Commissioner's Office, and it uses no ICO branding. Where the ICO's own wording is reproduced it is quoted and attributed; everything else on these pages is our own summary of the published record.
The ICO's register held 222 entries on that date. 6 of them are prosecutions of named individuals, with ages and home towns in the ICO's own summary. This tracker indexes organisations, so those 6 are excluded and every count on these pages is out of 216. They remain on the ICO's own register.
An entry says what the Commissioner did on the date shown. It is not a statement about the organisation today, and the ICO can amend or remove a register entry at any time. Amounts and provisions are as published by the ICO; where the published notice does not state a figure or name a provision, these pages say so rather than filling the gap. This entry was read from the register page at https://ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/2022/06/bolton-at-home/.
Register: ico.org.uk/action-weve-taken/enforcement/. Corrections: questions@gdprfine.com.